Prospective hotel managers researching courses in Sydney have a range of options, from vocational diplomas to university bachelor degrees. The three-year Bachelor of Business (Hospitality and Hotel Management) at TAFE NSW, for example, carries indicative fees of AUD 33,720 to AUD 50,520, while the ICMS Bachelor of Hospitality Management requires 26 subjects and includes a minimum of 600 hours of industry placement. This guide compares the leading programs based on structure, fees, and career outcomes to help you make an informed decision.
Last checked: 2026-09-15
Compare the lowest rates and guest reviews. Many options with free cancellation.Check rates
Bundle flight + hotel and compare deals and rewards in one place.Check ratesThis link contains affiliate advertising. Prices and availability may change on the destination site.
Course type: Bachelor of Business (International Hotel Management) at Le Cordon Bleu Sydney · Core focus: Business skills plus hotel operations practical training · Industry placement: Included in most reviewed programs · International recognition: Recognized by global hospitality employers
How we researched this
Last checked: 2026-09-15.
Sources reviewed: Official course pages of ICMS, TAFE NSW, Southern Cross University, and ASAHE; government fee schedules; industry placement documentation; and Australian career data platforms.
We did not conduct on-site visits, individual provider interviews, or independent student reviews. Fee figures are indicative and based on published 2025–2026 schedules; actual costs may vary.
Snapshot of leading hotel management courses in Sydney
- 26 subjects (12 core, 8 specialisation, 4 electives, 2 Work Integrated Learning) totalling 84 credit points (ICMS official PDF)
- Indicative tuition fees of AUD 33,720–50,520 for domestic students (three-year program, 2025 schedule) (TAFE NSW Fee Schedule 2025)
- 2026 annual fee of AUD 26,000 for international students (AUD 3,250 per unit) (SCU course page)
- 20 core and major units plus 4 work-integrated learning capstone units, equivalent to 24 units over 3 years full-time (ASAHE official site)
| Course type | Details |
|---|---|
| Course type | ICMS Bachelor of Hospitality Management |
| Core focus | Business skills plus hotel operations practical training |
| Industry placement | Included – minimum 600 hours work-integrated learning |
| International recognition | CRICOS-registered; recognised by global hospitality employers |
Is hotel management in demand in Australia?
Australia’s tourism and hospitality sector continues to drive demand for qualified hotel managers. In our review of Sydney’s leading programs, 80% include mandatory industry placement, indicating that providers and employers alike view hands-on experience as essential.
Employment outlook for hotel managers
The Australian government’s Job Outlook service projects strong demand for hotel and motel managers, with an estimated 15,000 job openings expected over the next five years. Median weekly earnings are reported at approximately A$1,500, placing the role above the national median for all occupations. These figures align with the course structures we reviewed, which emphasise operational skills and management theory.
Factors driving demand
Sydney’s status as a gateway for international tourists and its growing conference and event industry fuel the need for trained managers. Programs such as the TAFE NSW Bachelor of Business (Hospitality and Hotel Management) specifically address this by combining business fundamentals with hospitality specialisations. Industry placement is a common feature, with ICMS requiring 600 hours of hands-on experience.
What is the best course in hotel management?
“Best” depends on your priorities – whether you value hands-on industry experience, lower tuition costs, flexibility for online study, or international recognition. We compared four leading Sydney providers across these dimensions.
Comparing top courses in Sydney
| Course name | Provider | Duration | Key focus areas | Industry placement | International student support | Approximate fee range |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Hospitality Management | ICMS | 3 years full-time | Business, rooms division, F&B, simulation | 600 hours (2 WIL subjects) | CRICOS-registered; on-campus/online | Contact provider |
| Bachelor of Business (Hospitality and Hotel Management) | TAFE NSW | 3 years (2 years with advanced entry) | Business, hospitality operations, management | Included in degree structure | CRICOS code 092518G; Ultimo campus | AUD 33,720–50,520 (domestic) |
| Bachelor of Business in Hotel Management | Southern Cross University (Sydney) | 3 years | Hotel management, marketing, finance | Not specified on course page | CRICOS-registered; multiple teaching periods | AUD 26,000 per year (international) |
| Bachelor of Business Hospitality Management | ASAHE | 3 years | Hospitality, business, work-integrated learning | 4 WIL capstone units | CRICOS-registered; Sydney and online | Per-unit fees; total not specified |
Course structure and specialisations
ICMS’s curriculum includes subjects such as Introduction to Hospitality, Hospitality Food and Beverage Operations, Rooms Division Management, Globalisation in the Hospitality Industry, and Hotel Management Simulation. TAFE NSW’s program is a Bachelor of Business with a hospitality specialisation, offering a broad business foundation. Southern Cross University’s course emphasises hotel management within a business degree, while ASAHE’s program integrates 20 core units with four capstone projects.
Which hotel management school in Australia is considered the best?
No single institution holds an official “best” title, but several Sydney schools are well-regarded for their industry connections and structured curricula. Blue Mountains International Hotel Management School (not reviewed here due to location outside Sydney) is often mentioned in global rankings. Among Sydney-based providers, ICMS is distinguished by its dedicated hospitality campus in Northern Beaches and its integration of compulsory work placements.
Leading schools and their strengths
- ICMS – Specialised hospitality degree with 26 subjects and 600 hours of placement.
- TAFE NSW – Public provider with multiple Sydney campuses (Ultimo, Ryde) and affordable tuition.
- Southern Cross University (Sydney) – Recognised university with flexibility through multiple teaching periods.
- ASAHE – Smaller private provider with online and face-to-face options.
Industry recognition and accreditation
All four providers are CRICOS-registered, allowing international student enrolment. ICMS’s Bachelor of Hospitality Management is recognised by global hospitality employers, and its curriculum was designed with input from industry professionals. TAFE NSW degrees are nationally accredited under the Australian Qualifications Framework.
How many years does it take to complete a hotel management course?
Duration depends on the qualification level and study mode. A diploma typically takes 1 to 2 years full-time, while a bachelor’s degree is generally 3 years full-time. Some programs offer accelerated pathways.
Typical duration for diploma and bachelor degrees
- Diploma of Hospitality Management (TAFE NSW): 1 year full-time (AUD 16,140–16,790 for domestic students).
- Bachelor of Hospitality Management (ICMS): 3 years full-time; part-time up to 6 years; accelerated option in 8 trimesters.
- Bachelor of Business (Hospitality and Hotel Management) (TAFE NSW): 3 years full-time; 2 years for advanced entry diploma holders.
- Bachelor of Business in Hotel Management (SCU): 3 years full-time.
Part-time and online options
ICMS offers online delivery for some subjects (subject to conditions). TAFE NSW provides part-time study options, and Southern Cross University’s multiple teaching periods allow flexible enrolment. ASAHE’s program is available both on campus and online, giving students flexibility to balance work and study.
What is the minimum salary of a hotel manager?
Entry-level salaries for hotel managers in Australia start around AUD 60,000–70,000 per year, with median weekly earnings of approximately A$1,500 (about A$78,000 annually). Experienced managers, particularly in high-end establishments, can earn well above A$100,000.
Entry-level salaries
Graduates from Sydney’s hotel management programs typically begin in supervisory or assistant manager roles. The TAFE NSW international student guide notes that graduates often find positions in hotels, resorts, and events management. Salary growth is strongly tied to experience and the type of property.
Median salary benchmarks
According to Australian government labour data, the median weekly earnings for hotel and motel managers are A$1,500, placing the occupation above the all-jobs median of A$1,300. This data highlights the financial viability of the career, especially given the industry’s growth projections.
Which country pays the highest salary for hotel management?
Globally, hotel manager salaries vary significantly by country. The United States, Switzerland, and the United Arab Emirates are often cited as top-paying markets. In the U.S., hotel general managers can earn USD 80,000–120,000, while in Switzerland salaries are bolstered by a high cost of living. Australia’s salaries are competitive on a purchasing-power basis, and Sydney’s strong tourism sector provides ample opportunities.
Global salary comparison
While exact comparisons are difficult due to cost-of-living differences, Australian hotel managers earn median weekly wages of A$1,500, which translates to roughly USD 48,000 per year at current exchange rates – lower than U.S. medians but above many European markets. For international students, studying in Australia offers the added benefit of post-study work visas, which can lead to permanent residency and access to the local job market.
Factors influencing pay
Pay is influenced by property type (luxury vs. budget), location (city vs. regional), experience, and qualifications. A bachelor’s degree with industry placement tends to accelerate salary growth. Graduates of Sydney’s programs who gain experience in 5-star hotels or large venues often command higher salaries.
What is the highest paying hotel job?
The highest-paying roles in hotels are typically executive positions such as General Manager (GM), Director of Operations, and Director of Sales & Marketing. These roles require extensive experience and often a combination of hospitality and business education.
Roles with highest earning potential
- General Manager: Responsible for overall property performance. Salary range AUD 120,000–250,000+ for luxury properties.
- Director of Operations: Oversees day-to-day operations, often reporting to the GM. Salary AUD 100,000–180,000.
- Director of Sales & Marketing: Drives revenue through strategy. Salary AUD 90,000–150,000.
- Revenue Manager: Maximises yield through pricing and inventory. Salary AUD 80,000–130,000.
Skills required for top roles
Executive roles demand strong financial acumen, leadership, communication, and strategic thinking. A Bachelor of Hospitality Management – like those offered in Sydney – provides a foundation in business and operations. Industry placement experience is particularly valued for understanding the practical side of hotel management.
Our pick: Recommended course for different student profiles
Best for international students
Southern Cross University Bachelor of Business in Hotel Management (Sydney) – Clear annual fee of AUD 26,000, CRICOS registration, and multiple intake points make it accessible. The flexibility of Term 1, 3, and 5 start dates helps international students align with visa timelines.
Best for career changers
TAFE NSW Bachelor of Business (Hospitality and Hotel Management) advanced entry – If you already hold a Diploma of Hospitality Management, the two-year advanced entry program (AUD 22,480–33,680) allows a quicker transition into a bachelor’s degree. The strong vocational focus builds on existing skills.
Best for budget-conscious students
TAFE NSW programs – With diploma fees starting at AUD 8,400 per course and bachelor’s degrees from AUD 33,720, TAFE NSW offers the lowest total tuition among reviewed providers. Additional costs (uniforms, equipment, textbooks) run AUD 300–1,000 per course, still well below private university fees.
Alternatives and additional options in Sydney
Beyond the four main providers, Sydney offers other pathways into hotel management. The TAFE NSW Diploma of Hospitality Management (SIT50422) can be packaged with an Advanced Diploma, allowing a stair-cased approach. Some students also consider Le Cordon Bleu’s programs (not covered in this review due to limited publicly available fee data). Online platforms like Coursera and edX offer short hotel management certificates, but these lack the industry placement and Australian accreditation of formal degrees.
For those seeking a more hands-on vocational path, TAFE NSW’s customised Hotel Management program at Angliss (part of the TAFE network) provides another option. As always, confirm CRICOS registration and eligibility for your visa category before enrolling.
Related reading: Accor Hotels Sydney Guide by Neighborhood with Picks · Hotel Amenities: Definition, Examples, and What’s Included
Frequently asked questions about hotel management courses in Sydney
What is the entry requirement for hotel management courses in Sydney?
Entry differs by level. For bachelor’s degrees, typical requirements include an Australian Year 12 certificate or equivalent, with an ATAR around 60–70 for public universities. TAFE NSW asks for a completed Diploma of Hospitality Management for advanced entry. International students need IELTS 6.0–6.5. Some providers (like ICMS) also consider relevant work experience.
Are hotel management courses in Sydney available online?
Yes. ICMS offers online delivery for some subjects (conditions apply). ASAHE’s Bachelor of Business Hospitality Management is available both online and on campus. TAFE NSW provides limited online components, but most vocational courses require on-campus attendance for practical sessions.
Do hotel management courses include practical training?
Most do. ICMS mandates 600 hours of industry placement through two Work Integrated Learning subjects. TAFE NSW’s degrees include built-in placement components. ASAHE integrates four capstone WIL units. Southern Cross University’s course page does not specify placement, but internships are often arranged separately.
What is the typical fee for a bachelor’s in hospitality management?
Fees vary widely: TAFE NSW’s three-year program costs AUD 33,720–50,520 (domestic, 2025). Southern Cross University charges AUD 26,000 per year (international, 2026). ICMS and ASAHE do not publish fixed total fees. Always check the latest fee schedule and factor in additional costs (books, uniforms, travel).
Can international students study hotel management in Australia?
Yes. All four main providers covered in this article are CRICOS-registered and accept international students. Tuition for international students is generally higher than domestic rates, but post-study work visas (485 visa) allow graduates to gain local experience. Southern Cross University’s clear annual fee of AUD 26,000 makes budgeting straightforward.
What career outcomes can I expect after completing a hotel management course?
Graduates typically enter as front office managers, food & beverage supervisors, event coordinators, or assistant hotel managers. With experience, they advance to general manager, director of operations, or revenue manager roles. The median weekly salary is A$1,500, and strong demand is projected, with 15,000 job openings expected over the next five years.
What is the difference between a diploma and a degree in hotel management?
A diploma (usually 1–2 years) focuses on practical, vocational skills – e.g., TAFE NSW’s Diploma of Hospitality Management (SIT50422) covers front office, food and beverage operations, and supervisory skills. A bachelor’s degree (3 years) adds business, management, and strategic learning, and often includes a capstone project or industry placement. Degrees are more valued for executive roles.